connections | 12

a small experiment in linking peers + postings

what’s my type?

© HANNS-PETER NAGEL

To B or not to B?

© HANNS-PETER NAGEL, What’s My Type?,  MCDM, Cohort 12

So where do you start with creating a font? I have done some research, I looked at many, many typefaces and I even have an idea on how to get it onto the computer. The problem is: there are already so many fonts out there, it seems all a little bit overwhelming. So I did what always helps when the accumulated knowledge of mankind makes me feel small and insignificant: turn off the Interweb. Gone are all the awesome type designs that I can never come close to. Gone are all the examples that look so close to my drawings, it makes me feel like I just copy somebody else’s work.

_________

Track the progress of Hanns-Peter’s creative adventure and offer your opinions as he works on his font. Visit the What’s My Type? blog.

_________

Instead, I took pencil and paper, picked the letter B and started drawing. One row, two rows, three – once you get into the rhythm it is actually quite fun. Because you soon start to notice how little variations change the “look” of the letter. Why uppercase B? I just wanted to try a more difficult letter with a round form.

Take a look at the rows of B’s above. Any favorites? I kind of like the B in the second row, third from left. It has some character but is still solid and friendly.

So, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2012 by in cohort 12 reposts + links, creativity, design and tagged , , , , .

Twitter Feed

copyright notice

All works displayed and share on this blog are copyrighted and used under fair use.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

