connections | 12

a small experiment in linking peers + postings

of service to the service

© JESSICA HALL, More Than A Military Spouse, MCDM, Cohort 12

I am dedicating this post to the not so fun reality of deployment. And while it had its ups and downs, my absolute favorite part was sending my husband care packages! After sending them for months I got a system down, and my packing skills were impressive. While my hubby’s stop mail date has passed, I’m preparing to send more packages to our friends that are deployed. Here are my tried and true tips:

Themed Care Package

Themed Care Package. © Jessica Hall

1. Themed boxes. This was what my husband said was his favorite. For example I did a Cinco de Mayo box, complete with non-alcoholic sangria, Mexican chocolate, and pinata cookies (thanks Pinterest). I also sent a Halloween box and Dinosaur birthday box. These were really fun to shop for! The lady at Party City thought I was buying dinosaur party things for a child, not my husband. She was surprised when I said it was for my hubby, but hey things like this are a fun surprise.

2. Games. I asked my hubby what he loved getting, and he said he liked balls to throw around and the like. I always tried to get fun games in the dollar section. It adds some fun to the constant work.

3. Baked goods! I tried to send cake in jars, which arrived okay. I will say that I’m not really the best canner. I had more success with vacuum sealing cookies. I sent a lot of chocolate chip, but it’s really whatever the person you’re sending to wants/likes. (Asked my hubby what he liked: he adds that anything that supplements the diet is good too, the food can be random, he one day just ate carbs, another there was only sausage for breakfast, a lot of guys want/order protein.)

4. Wet Ones/Baby wipes. Seriously you can’t go wrong with sending these, it’s dusty over there!

5. Letters and cards. There is nothing like a handwritten note. We wrote a lot to each other during the deployment. The letters from my husband are something I will always cherish, they are really sweet. I always tried to include a card in the box. I bought some funny cards to send, and wrote others on regular paper.

_________

Follow Jessica’s life “in the military” as she chronicles her world of adjustments, deployments, and volunteering on her blog: More Than a Military Spouse.

_________

I had a lot of luck buying interesting stuff at World Market. I’m totally obsessed with the store, but they have great packaged foods in their gourmet section (I sent olives and hummus). And have a lot of small items so I made a lot of boxes out of tidbits of this and that.

Packed perfect.

Packed perfect. © Jessica Hall

But aside from what to put in the box, there is the sending it. I suggest sending a Flat Rate box from the US Postal Service. They have reduced rates for military packages (to an APO). Besides taping up the box and filling it out as usual, you’ll also need to fill out a customs form, CP 72. It’s the larger of the 2 customs forms, I filled out the wrong one on the first package I sent and had to redo it. The deployment address is basically a US address, so don’t fill out country. It’ll be APO AE (zip). APO is the city and AE is the state. You then need to describe what’s in the box, I use general terms like “cookies” or “crackers” and put a random value. Friends of mine often use the same few things, no matter what they send.I have found that different postal workers and offices are a bit pickier. One told me I needed to be more specific (shirts instead of clothes), and rudely at that. And be sure to use clear tape, my friend was sent away from a post office when she had used duct tape. Find the friendly post office, mine asks what type of cookies each time, insisting that they must try, but only their favorite types. It makes me smile every time.

So that’s what has worked for me. Since our unit’s stop mail date has passed I’m stocking up on supplies for our friends. Also, check out USPS military mailing guidelines, you can also request mailing kits with boxes, labels, and customs forms. Flat rate boxes, labels, and customs forms are all in the post office lobby, for free.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 10, 2012 by in cohort 12 reposts + links, of service and tagged , , , , , , .

Twitter Feed

copyright notice

All works displayed and share on this blog are copyrighted and used under fair use.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 74 other followers

